Quotes delayed 20 minutes

Board of Directors

  • Steve Meehan, Chairman and Director

    Stephen (Steve) Meehan, Chairman, has 20 plus years in the financial services arena. Prior to joining Bellwether, Steve served as CEO of Investment Planning Counsel (IPC), a firm he co-founded in 1996 and built to $18 billion in client assets at the time of his departure in 2010. Steve built the firm through a series of acquisitions, recruiting and organic growth. A key element of that strategy was the creation of a public vehicle utilizing IPC as the qualifying transaction in June 1999. That started the firm on an acquisition strategy that eventually led to the firm being sold to IGM Financial in 2004 for total equity consideration of $130 million. Steve agreed to stay on as CEO and continued to grow the company until 2010 when he stepped down to pursue other interests. Steve became a shareholder of Bellwether in late 2011.  Bellwether Asset Management was renamed Lorne Park Capital Partners Inc. in October 2013.

  • Bob Sewell, President and CEO and Director

    Robert (Bob) Sewell, President and CEO, is an industry veteran with over 20 years’ experience in the investment industry. Prior to creating Bellwether, Bob led TD Waterhouse Private Investment Counsel, the TD Bank’s discretionary investment management division. Under Bob’s leadership, Private Investment Counsel grew from $8 billion to $15 billion in assets under management. Bob left TD and established Bellwether Asset Management, the parent company of Bellwether Investment Management Inc. in 2009. Bob has applied his experience in building TD’s investment management business to Bellwether’s strategy of growth in the highly fragmented “boutique” investment management business.

    Bellwether Asset Management was renamed Lorne Park Capital Partners Inc. in October 2013.

  • David Brown, Director

    David Brown is a partner in the Corporate Department of Toronto based WeirFoulds LLP, one of Canada’s leading law firms. David practices in the areas of Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions, and Corporate Finance. He handles all manner of M&A, Private Equity and Debt transactions with an emphasis on private company sales and divestitures, middle-market company mergers and acquisitions and the Canadian component of institutional fund purchases and divestitures. David was the founding President and is currently a Director of the Exempt Market Dealers Association of Canada.

  • James Williams, Director

    Jim Williams is a Canadian telecom entrepreneur, starting in the telecom industry over 30 years ago, in 1981, as one of the original founders of start-up TIE Communications, which was one of Canada’s fastest growing telecom equipment manufacturers. TIE Communications grew from a start-up of under 10 employees into a $150 million a year public company in 5 years. Tie Communications was sold in 1988, and Jim stayed on as Vice President of sales until Jan 1992, when he left to found Williams Telecommunications Corp in February 1992. Jim is currently President and CEO of Williams Telecommunications, Dakota Technologies and Frontrunner Network Systems.

    Williams Telecommunications Corp., headquartered in Mississauga, Ontario, is recognized as a premier independent worldwide distributor of telecommunications equipment and supplier of information and customer service. In 1998, Williams purchased Dakota Technologies based in Mississauga, Ontario. Dakota Technologies is a factory repair and remanufacturing facility for telecommunications products. Dakota Technologies has developed a world-class state-of-the-art facility featuring advanced technology at every workstation. In 2008, Williams purchased Frontrunner Network Systems based in Rochester, New York, a former division of the Rochester Telecom Company that was founded in 1978. Frontrunner Network Systems now has over 6 offices in New York State and Chicago, and provides business communication and IP security equipment and services to enterprise, medium and small business clients across the Northeast and Midwest.

  • Christopher Dingle, Director

    Christopher Dingle LL.B. is a graduate of Osgoode Hall Law School (1970) with many years of business experience in the real estate and financial services industries. He was C.E.O. of RealFund, Canada’s first Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT). He was also a founding director and President of IPC Financial Network Inc., a consolidator of mutual fund broker/dealers that attracted over seven hundred financial planners across Canada. Mr. Dingle was a director of the Canadian Institute of Public Real Estate Companies (CIPREC) and served on boards of private and publicly listed companies including Royal LePage Ltd., Delta Hotels Ltd., RealFund, Toronto College Street Centre Ltd., Canlea Ltd. and IPC Financial Network Inc. He is currently with M Partners Inc., engaged in Corporate Finance, M&A and Advisory work in the areas of clean-tech and real estate.  He is President of Reconnaissance Investments Limited, a private investment company.

  • Michael “Pinball” Clemons, Senior Vice President and Director

    Michael “Pinball” Clemons, Senior Vice President,  is an icon of sporting excellence, community leadership, personal character and integrity. The Economics graduate is the pro-football world record holder in all-purpose yards, which earned him induction into the CFL Hall of Fame. He also has the second best coaching record in Argo history. Known for a personality that is as electric as his style of play on the field was, Mike redefines the meaning of community involvement and has been recognized by many organizations for his tireless work with charities, schools and other community groups. In 2007, he fulfilled a long time ambition by launching The Michael ‘Pinball’ Clemons Foundation to quicken academic excellence, infuse depth of character, promote health and vitality, and inspire generosity in our youth. The foundations most noteworthy project to date is building 131 schools in third world countries over five years. The author, philanthropist and entrepreneur is also currently the vice-chair of the Toronto Argonauts and a member of the distinguished Order of Ontario.